34 Advertising Agency Search Consultants

34There are 34 advertising agency search consultants listed below. There are surely many more when you add in local and part time consultants.

Savvy search consultants generally act as personal shoppers for larger advertisers trying to locate the perfect agency out of hundreds, even thousands, of specific agency options. It is estimated that about 10% to 15% of all searches use the services of a consultant (I am thinking about dollar volume not total agency searches.) I suspect that the number of consultant led pitches is well over 50% for clients that have large budgets, complicated accounts (think global ala Microsoft’s recent search) and now, highly specialized agency requirements.

Should Your Agency Contact Search Consultants?

Should your agency contact the search consultants on this list? Yes and no.

Here is the drill. Most of these consultants work for larger clients and they have hundreds of agencies to keep track of. They get lots of incoming from agencies every day — see the interviews below. Based on my 28 years of conversations with search consultants, I can tell you that most of the incoming agency information gets ignored even in a fast paced world where consultants need to keep abreast of the agency universe. Why? Agencies get ignored because most agencies do not really have a realistic reason to get on the consultant’s radar.

Realistic? Consultants are primarily interested in a core set of agency attributes. Obviously, they are looking for agencies that match their current searches. However, in general, any new agency (new to market or new to them) needs to have some distinctive attribute to get a consultant’s attention. That means having a good reason for these busy consultants to pay attention to you. What might that mean?

Here are some examples of what I would get my attention if I were a consultant:

  • Are you seriously creative (like really creative and can prove it?)
  • Have you been discovered by the trade press?
  • Can your agency handle really large, complex accounts?
  • Do you have international offices?
  • Did your team just leave a hot agency where you’all did famous work?
  • Do you have media planning and buying expertise?
  • Do you have demonstrable digital expertise? You can’t just say we do social media. Did you crack mobile advertising?
  • Do you have deep experience in an important client category?
  • Are you known for your strategic chops?
  • Is your name as ignore-free as Barton F. Graf 9000?

Get the picture?

The bottom line is that you need to think about what agency attributes will be of value to the consultant. Do you have some special sauce that a consultant needs to know about for their business and clients? Before you make any contact, please take the time to understand what search consultants look for.

Expert Opinions

I am going to have twelve interviews with advertising industry experts in my book on pitching: The Levitan Pitch. Buy This Book. Win More Pitches. A couple of interviews are with industry leading search consultants. Here are two responses that go directly to the question… “should my agency make contact with a search consultant?”

The first answer is from Russel Wholwerth of External View Consulting . The second is from Darren Woolley of Australia’s TrinityP3 — both are on the master list.

PL: I assume that you get a lot of incoming from agencies. How could a small to mid-sized agency get your attention? What attributes should they have before they bother making contact?

Russel: We get at least 20 to 30 inquiries from agencies every week. Most agencies act as if they have no clue how we operate or that they will need to really stand out to generate interest. Great work will always get our attention. Also, agencies that are off the standard deviation curve excite us. Too many agencies sound and look alike.

Darren: Interestingly we have noted a change in the marketing mix. Even advertisers from multinational companies, with a global or regional agency alignment are increasingly interested in small to mid-size agencies to improve and often compensate for deficiencies in the aligned agency. Therefore med-sized agencies with particular strengths are increasingly important and in demand in the agency mix. As are smaller agencies that can articulate and prove a core specialist competency that makes them distinctive from others is a real benefit.

So, to answer the “should you make contact” with national search consults question… I’d do these three things to start the process.

  1. Make sure that your agency can stand out in a national or international search by having something special to sell. Brand distinction rules here. These are good days for specialists. Be one.
  2. Understand the needs of the consultancy you are pitching before you make any contact. Do some research and don’t just mass mail every consultant. Use your marketing gray-matter to think through how to sell what you have to sell. You may only have one shot.
  3. Make sure your agency is listed in consultant agency databases.

On to the list. Yes, it is unwieldily. Thats why you need to take a few hours to study each consultant before you make any contact. Otherwise, you will be wasting a lot of time. Especially, yours.

A Team

www.a-teamadvisors.com
639 Front Street

San Francisco, CA 94111

415.391.8201

Jerry Gibons

jerryg@a-teamadvisors.com

4 Park Avenue

New York, NY 10016

917.597.3879

Margo Kornfeld

margok@a-teamadvisors.com

Richard Corman

richardc@a-teamadvisors.com

AAR Partners

www.aarpartners.com
155 East 55th Street, Ste 5C
New York, NY 10022
212.644.0790

Leslie Winthrop

winthrop@aarpartners.com

Lisa Colantuono

lisa@aarpartners.com

ABA Consulting, Inc.

www.abaconsulting.com
5080 Spectrum Drive Suite 760 West
Addison, Texas 75001
972.774.9960

Pete Bogda

pete@abaconsulting.com

Amy Bogda

amy@abaconsulting.com

Ad Management Insights, LLC

www.adinsights.net
3018 John Marshall Drive
Arlington, VA 22207
703.241.2121

Lynn Osborne

lynn.osborne@adinsights.com

ADvice & ADvisors

www.adviceandadvisors.com 
244 West 74th Street
New York, NY 10023
212.799.1973

Linda Fidelman

linda@adviceandadvisors.com

AgencyFinder

www.agencyfinder.com (North America)
www.agencyfinder.eu (Europe)
4327 Cox Road
Vantage Place
Glen Allen, VA 23060
804.346.1812

Chuck Myst

Chuck@agencyfinder.com

Agency-Select (UK)

www.agency-select.com
646..355.4030
44.0.20.7060.1014

Joan Weinberg

info@Agency-Select.com

Agency Spotter (a digital approach)

http://www.agencyspotter.com/

318 Cherokee Ave SE
Atlanta, GA 30312 USA

Brian Regienczuk

hello@agencyspotter.com

 

Alan Krinsky Associates

www.akrinsky.com
301 East 48th Street Suite 8F
New York, NY 10017
212.752.0539

Alan Krinsky

alan@akrinsky.com

Ark Advisors

www.ark-advisors.com
140 East 83rd Street, Suite 4B

New York, NY 10028

Ann Billock

212.861.3976

annb@ark-advisors.com

305 West 86th Street, Suite 5A

New York, NY 10024

Ken Robinson

917.498.7067

kenr@ark-advisors.com

Avidan Strategies, LLC

www.avidanstrategies.com
110-20 71st Road
Forest Hills, NY, 11375
718.997.6463

Avi Dan

avi@avidanstrategies.com

Bajkowski + Partners

www.bajkowski-partners.com
6 Varick Street
New York, NY 10013
212.226.3919

Laura Bajkowski

laura@bajkowski-partners.com

The Bedford Group

www.bedfordgroupconsulting.com
3343 Peachtree Road NE
Suite 333
Atlanta, GA 30326
404.237.4565

Jane Bedford

bedford@bedfordgroupconsulting.com

Tiffany Allen

tallen@bedfordgroupconsulting.com

Kerry Kielb

kkielb@bedfordgroupconsulting.com

Dan Plachta

dplachta@bedfordgroupconsulting.com

Blamer Partnership

www.blamerpartnership.com
825 3rd Avenue
New York, NY 10022
212.520.8520
Steve Blamer

steve@blamerpartnership.com

2863 Via Victoria

Palos Verdes Estates, CA 90274

310.800.5282

Craig Campbell

craig@blamerpartnership.com

9600 Edmondson Drive

Denton, TX 76207

323.804.5757

Larry Varnes

larry@blamerpartnership.com

Bob Wolf Partners/TPG

www.bwp-tpg.com
202 San Vicente Blvd. Suite 16
Santa Monica, CA 90402
310-260-1340
Dan Pearlman

dpearlman@bwp-tpg.com

Joanne Davis Consulting

www.joannedavisconsulting.com

325 East 57th Street, #7D

New York, NY 10022

212.935.0320

Joanne Davis

joanne@joannedavisconsulting.com

Drexler Fajen & Partners

www.drexlerfajenpartners.com
127 West 96 Street 3J
New York, NY 10025
646.459.2325

Michael Drexler

mike@drexlerfajen.com

Stephen Fajen

steve@drexlerfajen.com

External View Consulting Group

www.ext-viewgroup.com
9925 Jefferson Boulevard
Culver City, CA 90232
310.841.4502

Russel Wohlwerth

russelw@ext-viewgroup.com

Debra Wurzel

debraw@ext-viewgroup.com

3158 Hawkslanding Dr.

Cincinnati, OH 45244

513.225.0242

Gerry Preece

gerryp@ext-viewgroup.com

Hasan & Company

www.hasanandco.com
8601 Six Forks Road, Ste 400
Raleigh, NC 27615
Phone: 919.676.5301

Hasan Ramusevic

hasan@hasanandco.com

Robb High Associates

www.robbhighconsult.com
132 East 43rd Street #455
New York, NY 10017
917.856.1058

Rob High

rhigh@robbhighconsult.com

Jackie Walts Consulting

www.jackiewalts.com
6235 Aspinwall Road
Oakland, CA 94611
510.339.9105
801.383.6343

Jackie Walts

jackie@jackiewalts.com

Joanne Davis Consulting

www.joannedavisconsulting.com
325 East 57th Street, #7D
New York, NY 10022
212.935.0320

Joanne Davis

joanne@joannedavisconsulting.com

JUEL Consutling

www.juelconsulting.com
340 Madison Avenue
New York, NY 10173
212.220.9346

June Blocklin

blocklin@juelconsulting.com

Elizabeth Zea

zea@juelconsulting.com

Alan Krinsky Associates

www.akrinsky.com

301 East 48th Street Suite 8F

New York, NY 10017

212.260.8334

Alan Krinsky

alan@akrinsky.com

Mercer Island Group

www.migroup.com

PO Box 1599

Mercer Island, WA 98040

206.236.0447

Stephen Boehler

steveb@migroup.com

Robin Boehler

robinb@migroup.com

Matt Driscoll

mattd@migroup.com

Morgan Anderson Consulting

www.morgananderson.com
300 Moonhaw Road
West Shokan, NY 12494
518.719.3396

Lee Anne Morgan 212.741.0804

lamorgan@morgananderson.com

Arthur Anderson 212.741.0805

aanderson@morgananderson.com

Pile and Company

www.pileandcompany.com
The Prudential Tower
800 Boylston Street
Boston, MA 02199-8130
617.267.5000
Judy Neer, President

jneer@pileandcompany.com

Meghan McDonnell, Sr. Vice President

mmcdonnell@pileandcompany.com

R3:JLB

www.rthree.com
500 North Michigan Avenue, Ste. 300

Chicago, IL 60611

312-396-4155

David Beals

david.beals@rthree.com

Mary Conrad

mary.conrad@rthree.com

Kim Kilchenmann

kim@rthree.com

15 West 53rd Street, #9J

New York, NY 10019

917.863.4255

Brian Goodall

brian.goodall@rth

Reynolds & Fyshe (Canada)

www.reynoldsandfyshe.com
3044 Bloor St. West
Suite 143
Toronto, Ontario M8X 2Y8
416.518.5458

Mike Fyshe
mike@reynoldsandfyshe.com

RFP 

http://www.rfpassociates.net/
173 Chestnut Ridge Rd
Bethel CT 06801
203.748.8198

Steve Drake

The Rojek Consulting Group, Inc.

www.rcgconsulting.com

Crown Centre
5005 Rockside Road
Cleveland, OH 44131
216.573.3780

Lorraine Rojek, President

lrojek@rcgconsulting.com

Cameron McNaughton

cmcnaughton@rcgconsulting.com

Dave Windahl

dwindahl@rcgconsulting.com

Roth Observatory (International)

www.rothobservatory.com
120 East 79th St. _#5c
New York, NY 10021
212.861.9420

Dick Roth

dick.roth@rothobservatory.com

1510 Carver Street

Los Angles, CA 90278

310.896.8275

Stuart Pocock

stuart.pocock@rothobservatory.com

44.(0)20.7571.0415

Select Resources International

www.selectresources.com
1520-C Cloverfield Blvd.
Santa Monica, CA 90404
310-453-9200

Catherine Benison

catherine@selectr.com

Melissa Cheng

melissa@selectr.com

Rod Damrow

rod_d@selectr.com

Pamela Rhodes

pamela_r@selectr.com

TrinityP3 (Australia / Asia)

http://www.trinityp3.com

TrinityP3 Sydney
Suite 702, 53 Walker Street, North Sydney NSW 2060
61.2.9964.9900

Darren Whooley

darren@trinityp3.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

Free: 26 Ways To Grow Ad Agency Profits
Business-building tips from over 30 years running ad agencies.

2 Comments

  1. Thanks for including us in this list Peter, but it has made me realise I need to change the company name to AAAAAsia TrinityP3 to get to the top of the list.

  2. Intriguegraphics.com
    I’ve been in this business a long time and handled some of the biggest names in the CE industry, Housewares, Jewelry, Food and Wine & Spirit. Not many people know my name. Jeffrey Ginsberg.
    Can we talk?

Leave a Reply